UP YOUR KILT !

Today is Saint Andrew’s Day, the patron saint of Scotland.
My son has just asked me what he did & why is he a saint ? I didn’t know so I decided to look him up, this is what I found out. Read & enjoy.


He was one of Jesus’s disiples & was the brother of Simon who is called Peter. He is considered the founder and first bishop of the Church of Byzantium and is consequently the patron saint of the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople. Whatever that is.
Andrew is said to have been martyred for being a christian by crucifixion at the city of Patras in Achea, on the northern coast of the Peloponese. The one thing I did know about him is that when they crucified him he objected to being crucified on a traditional cross, because he didn’t feel worthy of dieing in the same way as Jesus, so they agreed to crucify him on a Saltire, which is shaped like an X. How nice of them to be so accommodating !

He is a bit of a tart & saints not only for Scotland but also Ukraine, Russia, Romania, Patras in Greece, Amalfi in Italy, Luqa in Malta & Esqueira in Portugal. He was also the patron saint of Prussia, not that it did them any good as Prussia no longer exists.
He performed a few standard miracles, saved a small boy from a burning house, saved a woman & her sister from her homocidal husband, stopped a young boy from having incest with his mother, vanquished some demons from Nice, you know the usual sort of thing.
So now you know !


To celebrate the day, have a wee dram, a slice of haggis, a piece of shortbread & go toss a caber !

Fingers crossed that this is going to actualy get posted before Crimbo !

EDIT:
I’m really pissed off with this site, I’ve got over twenty draft entries about Emmerdale that just refuse to upload, no matter how many times I try, but this works first time. I’m beginng to think that I’m being censored !
About An Elephant's Child

Like the elephant's child I am filled with insatiable curiousity. I REALLY AM THE PERSON YOUR MOTHER WARNED YOU ABOUT.
This entry was posted in Important Dates & Anniversaries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

