REST IN PEACE POLLY STYRENE.

I’ve just been told that Polly Styrene died of cancer yesterday.                                                 I am lost for words.

I remember going to see X-Ray Spex at Eric’s in Liverpool back in the day. She was bloody fantastic & so was the sax player.
Her voice could cut through steel, not the voice of an angel, more like the voice of a tormented soul !
I adored her dress sense too, she didn’t just wear the usual punk uniform of ripped clothes & a leather jacket.
As you can see from the photos above, she always wore much more ‘interesting’ outfits !

Sarah Jane from Dr Who last week, now Polly, slowly bit by bit my youth is dying off.
I feel so old & useless.
I keep thinking that I’m going to cry, but what I really feel like is smashing something or someone.
This site won’t let me embed a video, I know that I’m probably doing it wrong,  but anyway, here is a link to my favourite X-Ray Spex song:

PLAY IT LOUD, PLAY IT REALLY LOUD. ANNOY THE NEIGHBOURS !

About An Elephant's Child

Like the elephant's child I am filled with insatiable curiousity. I REALLY AM THE PERSON YOUR MOTHER WARNED YOU ABOUT.
This entry was posted in Art & Shit, Gone But Not Forgotten, History, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

