HELP, HELP, I’VE BEEN ATTACKED !

OMG – I’ve been attacked, not by giant rats, but by ‘malware’ !

Well to be more accurate, I haven’t been attacked by it, it was the computer which was attacked. It did give me a nasty shock though.

If you are au fait with ‘malware’, you may be thinking that it’s no big deal & my headline is a bit of an over reaction. Now that I know a bit more about it, I have to admit that my reaction to it was, just a teeny-weeny bit, over the top.

In short, I crapped myself. Totally convinced that I’d completely killed my son’s computer, I switched it off, unplugged it & then left the room – just in case I caught something off it !

What happened was this; the screen went all blue, a thing suddenly popped up on the screen saying that my computer was infected with 38 viruses & I had to install their ‘tool’ to deal with it, or the sky would fall, babies would die & it would be the end of civilization as we know it.

So I clicked where I was told to click & something else popped up asking for dollars, zip codes & my visa number, none of which I have.

It wouldn’t let me do anything at all on the computer. Every time I tried to do anything else, the damned poppy-up thing just kept telling me that I had to download their ‘anti-virus tool’.

I have to admit that I was absolutely terrified by it. Which is I suppose exactly the reaction the bastards who do this are expecting from gullible saps like me.

If you are not au fait with malware, then I should explain that none of what the poppy-up thing said was true. Malware is a nasty little bit of computer detritus which pretends to be rushing to your rescue, when in actual fact you don’t need rescuing & even if you did their ‘tool’ wouldn’t be of any use.

The whole thing is just a money making con.

It was alright in the end though. When my son came home he used a real anti-virus thingy-ma-bob to get rid of the fake anti-virus thingy-ma-bob.

And we all lived happily ever after.

The giant cat would have been a much funnier way of dealing with it though !

About An Elephant's Child

Like the elephant's child I am filled with insatiable curiousity. I REALLY AM THE PERSON YOUR MOTHER WARNED YOU ABOUT.
Aside | This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Nothing of any importance., Scientific Stuff, Things You Need To Know.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

